+233 303 966 118


Weija-Gbawe Municipal Assembly (WGMA) Is One Of The Two Hundred And Fifty-Four (254) Metropolitan, Municipal And District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana And Among The Seven (7) MMDAs in The Greater Accra Region.

It Was Carved From the then Ga West Municipal Assembly In November 2007. The Assembly Was Established By Legislative Instrument L.I. in 1867 With The Capital At Weija. The Original L.I Was Repealed On 15th March, 2013 And Replaced With L.I 2134 With Its Capital At Weija. It Was Again Repealed And Replaced With LI2315 As Weija-Gbawe Municipal Assembly.

Our Vision

A United Municipality In Which Economic Dynamism And Prosperity Are Combined With Social Justice And Equality

Our Mission

To Improve The Quality Of Life In Weija/Gbawe Through The Mobilization Of Resources For Service Delivery In The Context Of Good Governance And Accountability


As stated under Section 5 of the Local Government Act of 1993 (Act 462), a District Assembly consist of the following members: the District Chief Executive; one person from each electoral area within the District elected by universal adult suffrage in accordance with regulations made for the purpose by the Electoral Commission; the member or members of Parliament from the constituencies that fall within the area of authority of the District Assembly, except that such member or members shall have no voting rights; and other persons not exceeding 30 per cent of the total membership of the Assembly appointed by the President in consultation with the traditional authorities and other interest groups in the district. The District Coordinating Director is Secretary to the Assembly.



Municipal Chief Executive