Fourth A ssembly Of Weija-Gbawe Municipal Inaugurated

The fourth (Weija-Gbawe Municipal) Assembly has been duly inaugurated.

The colourful event came off on Thursday, 23rd January 2020 at the Institute of Technical Supervision (ITS), Weija Junction.

The Deputy Minister for Communication and Member of Parliament for Awutu Senya West, Honourable George Andah, who represented the President, declared the Assembly inaugurated.

Twenty-on (21) assembly members, made up of nineteen (19) males and two (2) females swore the oaths of office, secrecy and allegiance.

In his welcome address, the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) of the Weija-Gbawe Municipal Assembly, Hon Patrick Kwesi Brako Kumor, expressed the hope that the incoming assembly members would bring their ideas and expertise on board to propel the Municipal Assembly to greater heights.

Justice Bernard Bentil, Circuit Court Judge, administered the oaths.

Delivering the President's address to the members present, Hon George Andah (MP), urged the assembly members to be transparent and accountable to the people at the local level. He also called on them to work in close collaboration with the Municipal Chief Executive.

Finally, he urged them to provide leadership that will improve the standard of living of the people.

The chief of Gbawe Otodjor, Nii Okofio III, who stood in for the chief of Gbawe, urged the assembly members to work closely together to bring development to the communities. He wished them well and assured them of the support traditional authorities at all times.

Hon. Emmanuel Oduro Ampaw was elected by popular acclamation as the Presiding Member (PM) of the Weija-Gbawe Municipal Assembly.

In his acceptance, after he was sworn in, Hon Oduro Ampaw thanked all for the confidence reposed in him and pledged to work hard in concert with his colleagues to raise higher the flag of Weija-Gbawe Municipal.

Julius Sarpei,

PRO, Weija-Gbawe Municipal Assembly.