+233 303 966 118


The Weija-Gbawe Municipal Assembly has inaugurated the Unit Committee Members and Sub-structures of the Assembly in a ceremony held at the Assembly Hall of the Weija-Gbawe Municipal Assembly.

The inauguration ceremony was led by Her Ladyship, Ruby Opoku on Thursday, March 28, 2024.

An introduction ceremony done by the Municipal Coordinating Director disclosed the purpose of the gathering. That is the swearing-in of the Unit Committee Members as well as the inauguration of the Sub-structures of the Assembly which are the Weija Zonal Council and Gbawe Urban Council. She encouraged the sub-structures to work harder and added that, the assembly will do their best to support them.

Honorable Michael Danquah, the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) in his address applauded the former members and the municipal staff of the sub-structures for their dedication, service and contribution and urged the new members to be diligent for their term. According to him, the Local Governance Instrument 2010 (LI 1967) outlines the functions of the sub-structures which includes implementation of policies at the local level, mobilization of revenue and also mobilize the community in decision making and also added that, the existence of the sub-structures is to bring governance closer to the community which is the main objective of the decentralization process.

“As part of the functions, the Council Members are among other things expected to be conversant with the local or legal regulative framework of the local governance, assist in revenue mobilization and the improvement of the revenue, putting aside political, ethical and personal sentiments and serve the people in accordance with the laid down rules” he said.

The Presiding Member, Honorable Wilfred Ayitey Blankson told them to adhere to the words in the oath they took and also solve every problem with their assembly members to foster the municipality’s development.