Picture of Department Head

Madam Mercy Quansah

Municipal Coordinating Director

The District or Municipal Assembly is a corporate body with a perpetual succession and a common seal. The functions of the Municipal Assembly have been spelt out in the local Act 1993 Act 462 (Section 10, Sub Section 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.) These can be summarized as follows:

  • . Formulate and Execute plans, programs and strategies for the effective mobilization of the resources necessary for the overall development of the District.
  • . Responsibility for development, improvement and management of human settlements and environment.
  • . To guide, encourage and support Zonal Councils, Local Government bodies, public agencies and local communities to perform their roles in the execution of approved development plans.
  • . To coordinate, integrate and harmonise the execution of programmes and projects under the approved development plans for the Assembly and other development programmes promoted or carried out by ministries, departments, public corporations and other statutory bodies and non- governmental organizations.
  • . Promote and support productive activity and social development in the municipal area and remove any obstacles to initiative and development.

The Weija-Gbawe Municipal Assembly is the highest decision making body. It is headed by a Chief Executive who is appointed by the President. He is assisted by the Municipal Coordinating Director who is the Administrative head. The Municipal Assembly has the responsibility for the overall development of all areas under its jurisdiction. The Weija-Gbawe Municipality has 26 electoral areas. The District has three zonal councils namely, Wijae, Domeabra and Oboom and it has three constituencies namely Weija Constituency, Oboom Domeabra and Bortiano Amanfro Constituency. Weija-Gbawe is made up of several traditional areas. This Traditional authority in the municipality is headed by the chief, with linguists who acts as spokespersons for them. They also have the Council of Elders who are advisers to the Chiefs regarding the day to day affairs of their community and Wulomei who act as Spiritual heads. Some of the Traditional areas are Gbawe, Tetegu, Aplaku, Weija, Langma, Ablekuma, Kokrobite, Bortianor, and Oshieyie. Like other parts of the Ga traditional areas, Homowo (Hooting at Hunger) is the main festival celebrated in the Weija-Gbawe municipality.